need help converting to computerized reports

Originally Posted By: greg jones
This post was automatically imported from our archived forum.

I have been doing hand written reports for 4 years. I am contemplating switching to on-site computer generated reports, but I am worried about the time it takes to complete the inspection. I have gotten my time down to 2 to 3 hours doing hand written reports depending on the size of the house. I really like the idea of computerized reports because of the professional look of the report, but I am afraid it will take a lot longer. I have read some comments from other inspectors stating it takes as much as 4 hours to do an inspection with a hand held or computer. If I have to cut my inspections down from 3 a day to 2 a day, I ‘m going to lose a lot of money over a years’ time. Is there a simple software that is easy to generate a report in a reasonable amount of time? I am terrified to make this switch, but I think I need to catch up with the times. Any comments will be greatly appreciated.

Greg Jones Home Inspections

Originally Posted By: dbowers

2 a day is a good goal - charge more.

Originally Posted By: rsonneson

Have been doing onsite computer reports for about 2 years and I do not believe that they take any longer than a good handwritten report. At first your time will be longer just like any time you change report styles but after you get use to the computer report it will be no different than you written report. When I first changed to computer reports I practiced at night for about 30 full reports prior to even trying to do one with a client present.

Bob Sonneson

American Home Inspection Technologies

Originally Posted By: charper

Greg,