Need info on ultraviolet H2O treatment

Anyone know about or have info on ultraviolet water treatment systems?

Looking to increase my nawlege… my nohow…my edumacasun!:mrgreen:

Seriously… any info or web sites would help.

Thanks.

Home Depot has them on sale and lots of info should be able to find out a lot there .
Roy Cooke sr

kills bacteria that may be in the water. Replace bulb when needed. If you are in and area with hard water it is advisable to place the unit after the water softener. Otherwise the crystal sleeve will become coated with mineral deposits and the unit will not be effective.

http://www.uvwatertreatment.com/mighpu01.htm

Put a good sediment filter before the UV unit, as sediments hinder the effectiveness of the UV. Some manufactures recommend bulb replacement yearly.

http://www.home-water-purifiers-and-filters.com/whole-house-ultraviolet.php

I have been using one for a few years now. It is installed after whole house carbon filter and water softener. I was also recommended to change bulb annually, however, bulb is still good. I check it every few months. I installed my unit vertically to prevent sediment from settling on the glass tube inside.

I should add that I am on a 45’ dug well in the country and we use a bottled water company for our drinking and cooking water. One can never be to careful.

Here is my unit.

http://www.ohiopurewaterco.com/shop/customer/pages.php?pageid=136.html#SterilightSpecs

Roy,
How do you check that the bul is still good? I hope you are not simply looking to see that it is still shining.

You have a water softener, carbon filter and UV - and you buy bottled water think that is somehow less contaminated than yours? :shock: