New Construction Inspections for Banking Institutions

Originally Posted By: tsalazar
This post was automatically imported from our archived forum.

Today I was called by a local bank and asked if I did “New Construction Inspections”. I have an appointment to talk to them in a couple of days. My problem is I am not sure exactly what they are looking for. When I asked the bank officer if they had a certain format they used, he said: “all of our inspectors use their own forms and rating system.” My question is, Does anyone do these kind of inspections and what forms are used? I didn’t want to go to the meeting totally empty handed. Needless to say, I am new to the Home Inspection Business and have not worked for lending institutions yet. Any comments would be greatly appreciated.

Test

Originally Posted By: jburkeson

Terry,

Welcome to NACHI, most likely the bank is requesting you to perform percent-complete inspections, these are typically not considered quality inspections but quantity inspections. Prior to releasing a draw on a construction loan the bank needs to know if the work the funds represent is finished. There are typically 4 to 5 draws that comprise a typical home construction loan. I use an Excel worksheet to monitor the various phases which automatically computes the percent-complete, PM me should you require a copy.

--
Joseph Burkeson, RPI (Hooperette)

?Anyone who has proclaimed violence his method inexorably must choose lying as his principle.?
~ Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn

Originally Posted By: eharris

very unusual for the bank to contact you for an inspection of their facility. I have quite alot of experience in building banks & credit unions from a local perspective, regional and national perspectives. In '97, I was responsible for survey of 800+ bank One’s & remodel of 450+.