As stated before, business 101:
A gross profit margin of 0.33:1 means that for every dollar in sales or service, you have 33 cents to cover your basic operating costs and profit.
As in any business, there needs to be a certain percentage of profit/overhead. If you are getting 1 in 20 hits, then you are paying $34 per inspection brought in (based on $1.80 per click fee for your adwords campaign). One spends on average per inspection say $10 on gas and tolls, $14 on federal taxes and SS , and 1 hour to perform the inspection and write report. Based on an $80 inspection. That leaves $22 profit, not including any expenses such as office supplies or cost of maintaining licenses. That $22 per hour is not good business in my opinion. I can’t imagine how much profit you can make on a $55 special.
I prefer to keep the conversation public. It is an open message board, and I don’t intend of being offensive or aggresive to you or anyone else who charges ultra low prices. Just trying to understand the business side of it. I understand the idea of having low prices for a short period of time to get you name out there.
A $70 inspection give a margin of 0.17:1 = Bad Business, Time to go to business school 101 Mike.