New roof framing over old roof

An agent is wanting me to do an inspection on a property her client bought a while back, but did NOT get an inspection. Among other problems, they are concerned that a new roof frame has been built on top of part of the old roof.

I know this is not actually that uncommon, and can be done however i’ve only ran across this one time many years ago with a rent house before I was an inspector. My first thought is that a structural engineer should have been consulted when the new frame was designed, to make sure that the old roof can handle the weight from the new one.

I’m not sure what all problems she’s having right now but I wouldn’t be surprised if somebody just decided to do it without consulting an engineer, and now they are having structural issues. I don’t know if the old frame is truss or rafter yet. any insight you have about this style of construction i’d appreciate.

There is not much to go on, but the new roof framing should be independent of the old roof structure.

2 Likes

That looks pretty old. How was it performing?

Ouch. I’m wondering if the agent got an earful after the client found these problems? Maybe offered to pay for an inspection after the fact? Maybe they are on a fact-finding mission for a potential lawsuit against the seller? Better tread carefully on this one!

3 Likes

I don’t really have much more information right now the agent said she suggested she get an inspection before she bought it but that the mortgage broker told her it would be a bad idea because of the way the market is. Who knows what’s going on behind the scenes

:flushed: The mortgage broker?? Holy Liability!!

1 Like

This is how it was described to me… she was quick to say “I suggested she get an inspection”

1 Like

Not doubting you at all. That’s just crazy that they (mortgage brokers) were throwing their necks on the proverbial chopping block to make a buck.