No excuse for missing a structural defect in the roof

Accoring to the Res. SOP:
2.1. Roof
I. The inspector shall inspect from ground level or eaves: A. the roof covering; [and]
E. the general structure of the roof from the readily accessible
panels, doors or stairs.
So, I’m a supposed to inspect the structure of the roof from the ground or eaves; or from the panels, doors and stairs? If you read the SOP 2.1.I.A. and E. all together as a sentence, it doesn’t make sense (IMHO). There are too many vantage points.

And…

I’m not a structural engineer. Why am I required to inspect the structure of the roof from all these vantage points? Gees. What if the slight sag is from a structural defect that is beyond my understanding as a generalist?

A judge might have the opinion: If there’s anything wrong (ANYTHING wrong) with the structure of the roof, there is no excuse for not seeing it, since the inspector is required to inspect the roof structure from all those numerous vantage points.

I believe there appears to be too much emphasis on inspecting the structure of the roof. And there doesn’t need to be.

Do you have any case history to reference, or is this just a guess?

so Ben …do you just dislike the Nachi Sop as a whole as it appears from your posts?

Hardly.
I probably have something to do with the SOP (since I wrote the first draft of the InterNACHI SOP.)
I am familiar with writing SOPs. Wrote the IAC2 Mold SOP and the Radon Mitigation System Inspection SOP.

My belief and sole intention is simple:

All of us inspectors should scrutinize and discuss the SOP to make it concise, effective and valuable. Among many benefits, the SOP protects us. It guides our actions as professionals. Yet, I would guess many of us professional do not read the SOP in great detail, until a client forces us. And that’s too late.

just-as-iron-sharpenth-iron.jpg