Owens Corning Changes... NOT a fan

So I’m new to the forums. I’ve been a member here now for over a year, but was never able to access the forums each time I’d try.

I’m new to inspecting, so was using the Owens Corning program to supplement my inspections. Recently I’ve noticed there have been changes made to the program. Now instead of first come first served, it’s changed to stating you are available and you’ll get the job based on your location to the job and experience in the program.

I’m curious why this has changed? If I’m available to do the inspection by the date specified, why does it matter how far I’m traveling if I’m willing to make the trip? When you send me the lead, you tell me where it’s at and I decide if I’m willing to travel there before saying I can do it.

As a gripe, this seems like an “everyone gets a trophy” sort of move. Having started my business in November, I’m at my desk trying to generate leads for inspections and have missed out in 4 OC jobs recently that were given to other inspectors through this program even though I responded as soon as I received the email.

Just my gripes with the program changes :slight_smile: not at all a fan of the changes.

Just a WAG here, but…

From your description, it sounds as if this ‘new’ direction will allow an inspector with thirty years experience and in the field at the time of the lead generation, the same opportunities to service his/her own community as given to the newbie inspector with zero experience and sitting behind a desk at the time of the lead.

Seems like a great benefit to the consumer and the company.

Hey Zach,
I have a question for you.
When OC dispatches a job inquiry, are they required to honor NACHI safety practices?
For example, the roof is 3 stories high. Do they expect us to go up there and perform the job criteria?
Thank you.

1 Like

Jeffrey,