Panel Question

First, let me introduce myself a bit. I am new to NACHI and new to the industry. I am currently “in training.” My background is in a wide range of technical analysis (observation and reporting), but not specific to the construction industry. Mechanical systems (structural, plumbing, roofing, etc.) are my strong suit, but electrical is by far my weakest, so you may see me on this board quite frequently.

Now for the question: I recently saw this panel in an attic I was looking at for training purposes (not for a client or anything). It is a sub-panel that services the upstairs area of a two-story home. The panel looks good on the inside (except that none of the breakers are labeled) and is appropriately sized, but the outside doesn’t look right to me. The insulation you see is walled-in cellulose. I don’t know enough yet to really accurately describe what’s wrong. Any suggestions or comments?

DSC01042sm.JPG

=============

Just off the top of pointy head, electrical panels are suppose to be readily accessible to the homeowner. If it’s in the attic, that’s not readily accessible. Is there a floor to stand on? Adequete lighting in the area?

How about the proper cable clamps for the wiring? Etc.

If you lack experience in other areas (and we all have that problem), buy yourself a set of CheckBoooks. Great investment for the new home inspector.

Thanks for the tip on the CheckBooks. I was actually looking into that.

As for the placement, there is a floor - the roof is a steep pitch and the attic is accessed by a series of standard interior doors off the second floor hallway. I personally thight it was a bit “out of the way,” but not necessarily “inaccessible.”

Should there be some sort of separation from the insulation, or conduit for the out-going wires? Having the insulation packed around the loose wires seems “wrong” but I’m not sure about it…

(the clamps and connections looked good and there was no bare wiring in or around the insulation.)