Part time inpectors

HI I am new to home inspector business but not new to real estate. I am a real estate investor, own rentals, manage my own properties and have done some rehabs . I am on the last leg to get my Florida certification like the house of horrors, pretty cool set up.
I was wondering if there are inspectors that work part time like 1 hose a day or only few days out of the week. I am still employed with the airlines witch gives me a LOT of flexibility on my schedule. I ask because I like to field of inspection but can not dive in as a full time but I don’t mind taking time off to start getting more into the inspection business. Any Feed back is appreciated
Thanks

3 Likes

I am a full time career fire captain. I do home inspections on my days off.

6 Likes

You do understand that performing inspections is only about 1/4 to 1/3 of the job, right??
(Unless you intend for this to only be a hobby).

I work shift-work (nights) for the Federal Govt which provides a lot of time off and flexibility. I started my Home Inspection business this year and I too do inspections on my days off, or sometimes before working my other job. Doing this part-time is hard to compete against the “Full-timers” but it can be done. Like most things it will be what you make of it… Good luck!

1 Like

I am an engineer on a tug boat and work 1 week on 1 week off and soon I’ll be switching to 2 weeks on 2 weeks off to help my business have more flexibility. Having that schedule gives me 6 months off a year to do inspections. Having the ability to do them on my time off is incredible because I don’t have to quit my day job which pays really well already. I have the best of both worlds.

3 Likes

Doing research, writing reports and getting educated are the other 2/3 - 3/4 of the job I’m presuming?

2 Likes