Please List examples of problems that caused actual lawsuits

Originally Posted By: csewell
This post was automatically imported from our archived forum.

I am relatively new at home inspecting and really don’t like the thought of being sued. I have E&O insurance, a great inspection agreement that was reviewed by a lawyer in my state, and the Texas TREC rules that spell out what is excluded from inspections to help protect me; however, I would like to know what types of things inspectors are being sued for (excuse the dangling participle, but it sounds better that way).

Therefore, is there a site where one can find and access existing lawsuits?

Also, would those of you who read this and know of some actual cases, please post some brief information on them -- specifically, what problem occurred?

I know of only one locally where there was a severe case of water damage and mold on the other side of a wall behind a commode -- the carpet was rotten and loose with mold underneath and inside the wall and a second problem with a large hornets nest in the living room. I don't see one missing the wet and rotting carpet but the nest was possibly behind a couch.

--
Charles Sewell

Originally Posted By: wcampbell

Charles, check out this site.

http://www.hadd.com/inspectors01.html

--
This Ole House-Home Inspections
William A. Campbell TREC # 6372
Serving the Texas Coastal Bend
(361) 727-0602 (home)
(361) 727-0055 (office)
(361) 229-4103 (cell)

Originally Posted By: csewell

Boy, that guy was pissed, and rightfully so! I really liked his comment on not relying on the realtor for a recommendation for an inspector.

Thanks again,

--
Charles Sewell

Originally Posted By: Scott Patterson