Possible Legal issue or Insurance claim

I’m relatively new to the business but not to the trade. I have an issue where a point of SOP was missed on a report and although I believe there were some circumstances that caused the point to be missed as to the report, it was not on there. What is the normal course of action? Send them to insurance?

Steven, welcome to our forum!..Enjoy! :smile:

Hold on Steven.

First of all be careful what you post.
Take careful notes on what the complaint is and see if your client will talk to you. Try to address as best as you can but admit no mistake until you have a clear picture of whats what.
Only then can you proceed with whether this is an insurance claim or not.
Perhaps your client is simply unhappy and wants you to heat them out.

2 Likes

To get an accurate answer, it would be helpful to get specific, with pictures, if you have them, Steven.

^^^^^ Scott gave you one good advice above. ^^^^^

You can go to “Members Only section”, if that will help you.

2 Likes

If someone has a standard of practice in the state that requires all plumbing material to be identified and there was galvanized piping present, but was not put in the report and that buyer bought the house and recognized diminished flow at the faucets, is that a legal or insurance issue? Omission? Also, say for instance functional flow was left off the report as well.

That might help. Thought i was in members only.

Errors & Omission Insurance. Hypothetically, if there a demand for $, one contacts their ins. agent.

I wouldn’t say so much a demand, but pretty close to one.

I’m not at home right now so my pics are not available.

General Inspection Topics

Legislation, Licensing, Ethics & Legal Issues
“These general inspection discussions are visible to everyone.”

Thanks, I see that now.

1 Like

I’m starting a new thread in members only.

Its a great thing to conduct inspections conscientiously Steven.