Presenting to Realtors as a New Inspector

I’m brand new to inspecting with no previous trade experience. I completed training/education through ICA, done ride alongs, mock inspections, recently received my state licensed and got insured, now working on CPI certification through InterNACHI.

I’m lucky enough to have landed a 10-15 min presentation at a realty office’s monthly meeting via Zoom (due to pandemic restrictions). Because of the lack of actual work experience as an inspector, what would you focus on saying in that situation?

Why did you put yourself in that position?

I guess you best address the new REA;s in the room and show that you and them share something in common, both are in the same boat just starting out and need work,

Ha! Right? I’m eager to get started.
That’s great advice regarding the new REA’s. Thanks.

1 Like

What I mean is that I did not work professionally in any construction-related trade prior to this. I have some knowledge and experience from renovating and repairing my properties. I wanted a change and was really interested in the home inspection process. So, here I am.

1 Like

Try this:

2 Likes

Good luck on your presentation! I don’t have any tips for you as I don’t do them. I have done only two when I first started. My experience: the most embarrassing 10 minutes of my life. I came to learn real quick that agents could care less about what I had to say. I thought I had a pretty good presentation, even brought food, but the looks I got and reading the facial expressions of how uninterested they were turned me off from ever doing any marketing towards REA’s again.

My focus and marketing has solely been to the people buying or selling and it has done me well.