Problem Realtor, Maybe?

I am a new inspector so any business is welcome, but at the same time, I won’t compromise my integrity or duty to my clients for an inspection fee.

I worked an inspection today that was scheduled by the realtor (not uncommon, right?). She said the client was elderly and doesn’t have an email to be able to e-sign the agreement so I offered to go out of my way to bring her a hard copy prior to the inspection. The realtor specifically asked me only to send the report to her which seemed off. The client then told me when I called for payment over the phone I could email the receipt so I went ahead and emailed her the report as well since she is the client after all… Well, I just got a very angry message from the realtor about how she spent an hour calming down the client about what was on the report and asked once again that going forward I send the reports only to her.

My question is - Is this common when agents schedule the inspection directly or is this specific agent trying to control the way issues are found? It feels wrong to me and I’m questioning working with her again if she doesn’t change her practices but wanted to check with y’all first!

1 Like

It is somewhat common for agents to try to control the sale but it is WRONG for her to insist that you not give a copy of the report to YOUR client.

You can do better without that agent, in the long run. She is not your client! And you are reading her quite accurately. She is trying to train you and you can stick to your guns and train her, if she is trainable. But, that is your business policy…period! IMHO

And welcome!

6 Likes