Radon calculations

I am taking the Advanced Radon Measurement Service Provider course and I am having trouble with one of the questions on quiz 1. The question is:

If a gallon container held air with 4 pCi/L, there would be about 4 (quarts per gallon) multiplied by 4 (pCi/L) multiplied by 2.22 disintegrations per minutes, or about _____ disintegrations per minutes of radon atoms in the container.

What answer are you giving?

Hi JJonas

I am new to the InterNACHI school. I am not sure how I am supposed to get help from the school or the instructors. What is the best way for me to get course related questions answered?

As indicated in the coursework…

I/we have no problem with assisting you with your questions, BUT, we may not be supplying the correct answer for your coursework. Now, my original question of what answer you gave was to see if you are actually wrong, or if there is a glitch in the course which does happen sometimes. My only other question before trying to assist you (sorta the ‘teach’ mode as opposed to just telling you the answer), is “How did you arrive at your answer”? You know, like in school, when your teacher instructs you to “Show your work”. It helps us to help you, if we knew how you came up with your answer.

Thanks for letting me know that. Yes, I am trying to understand how to do the work, and not just get the answer.

My work:
4pCi x 2.22 disintegrations per minute = 8.88

1 Like

I don’t think I factored in the “gallon” is about 4 [quote=“jjonas, post:4, topic:167398, full:true”]

As indicated in the coursework…