Removing a Small wall

I want to remove a small section of the wall between my kitchen and living room in a small one bedroom second floor condo.

Im an electrician so I have a very rough idea what to look for. The roof is trussed and the wall is very short so I figured I was ok until I saw the wall in question has a double plate. Now I dont know.

Below is a quick layout.
The joists are left to right.
At the top is the basic layout of the trusses in the attic.
The nodes dont fall on the wall but I believe that doesnt always matter.
The red X’s show the area I want to remove.
I have no access to the first floor or the basement crawl space.

I may be able to bribe a GC ont he job to come check it out or just hire a SE but I think some of the inspectors around here may not be interested in a small thing like this.
I greatly appreciate any advice.

http://img339.imageshack.us/img339/5200/comp10000000.png

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

I had a small 3 foot wall in my home I wanted to remove. It didn’t appear to be load-bearing but I discovered I had rafters in my attic with little support. Interestingly, the one supporting 2 X 4 which held up the entire roof rested directly on this short wall. I had to do some re-structuring in my attic to remove the wall. I noticed that the North(?) living room area has no center supporting structure at all even now. Have you noticed sagging in the ceiling in this area or cracks in the ceiling?

You have to get building approval to do any remodeling in a condo.

Their attitude is do whatever you want inside, its your problem. I called the association manager.

The entire span is about 20’

Ive noticed other units have completely open kitchen but I cant be sure if it was remodeled or it was original. Buildings were built in 88.

The small wall parallel to the joists is double up at the top as well but its definitely not bearing. Its mounted in between joists by 1x’s.

2x4 trusses.