Renters Letter

Originally Posted By: ssmith3
This post was automatically imported from our archived forum.

My fellow NACHI brothers,

I was wondering if someone has a letter, note, something to sent to homeowners, renters, ?? as to how to get your house ready for an inspection??

I am beginning to do more inspections for investors on 4plexes and the such. I want something to give the person who orders the inspection to forward to the sellers so that they can notify their tenants that I am coming and steps that they can take to make the inspection process go smoother. i.e. clean out the oven, dishwasher, sinks, tubs. remove the octopus of wires from the outlets etc, etc.

Any help would be most truly appreciated.

Scott Smith

Marinspection

Vice President NorCal NACHI Chapter

I graduated from collage. Now my life is all mixed up.

Originally Posted By: kmcmahon

Many times a week, I enter someone's house to perform what's become an expected part of most real estate deals -- a home inspection.
As an inspector, I go over the house thoroughly, concentrating on the working condition of its major
systems. Then, I present a written and photographic report to the buyer that describes the house and its
systems, the good, bad and, occasionally, the ugly.
I usually work for buyers; they want to know that they're spending their money wisely. But everyone
involved in the process -- seller as well as buyer and their agent -- wants the inspection to go smoothly. I know I do.
Yet, often I find that while a seller may have gone to great lengths to make their home ready for a real
estate agent to show, it's usually not ready to inspect. From my observations, I've determined that there are
a few minor repair and maintenance chores that sellers can do to reduce the number of defects that will
show up on the inspection report.

Here's a checklist that can help a house inspect as well as it shows: