Roofers exposed On Market place

http://www.cbc.ca/video/#/News/TV_Shows/Marketplace/1341111368/ID=1781395915

That was entertaining.
Not sure why they needed the the actor in it though.

$7K for a semi-detached shingle job? Boy thats rich.

"$7K for a semi-detached shingle job? Boy thats rich."

( Here comes the ‘professor’ to tell you that you are wrong :roll: )

Choosing the television actor, Mike Holmes, to pose as a roofing expert will certainly attract ratings.

A good name for this show might be “Piddler on the Roof”.

I wonder if a kid ever gets ripped off by a sno-cone man we can expect to see people wanting sno-cone legislation, as well.

You can tell Holmes has never made a living being a contractor. He is way off base. You do not get jobs by doubling a bid. Roofers are not masons either.
It is the consumers fault for not checking the contractors’ references. When I was a contractor, I seldom got a job where a consumer did not check my references. The sad part is, most consumers just look at the price, not the workmanship.

I never got the idea it was a semi-detached.

I am mid-priced, well known in this area and have impeccable references. To get me to your roof, you have to be referred to me, I dont go soliciting roof jobs.

Its a semi. Watch the first 2 minutes of the video.

Yeah…saw that after I posted… Find it strange that they chose a semi. Many people in semis here time the replacement of the roof so that both sides are done at once…saves $$$, looks better and there is not a center seam to try to make watertight.

$7,000 price including chimney repair would be about right for the whole place…wonder if???

7K for a semi would be normal for me if: you were replacing the sheathing, installing new vents, repairing the chimney as well as flashing it properly and replacing the entire roof.