roofing ventilation

here is the deal, i am a home inspector and am looking for the insurance company to replace my roof. I am dealing with a few companies that do a great job in my area. I understand the process of ventilation and its purpose. Material specs require 12 static vents for my roof. Thats at 1 vent per 300 sq.ft. I have 2600 sq.ft. or i can do 4 wind turbines or 2 power turbines. They have the new solar power turbines also. My question is if i only use 5 static vents like the company wants to install will the 40 yr. warranty be void because of improper ventilation.
Then there is the question with power turbines, Noisey? Motors failing? Paying an electrician to wire them in? What is the best thing for me to do?

Billy,

I have been working with insurance companies for a while…some are great, others totally suck (Erie Ins.)…with that said, the insurance company is only going to pay out for what you have already… there are a few exceptions but VERY few.

Static vents and turbine vents are a joke…I wouldn’t mess with either.
You would be better to go with the power vent depending on your current configuration or if need be changing same so that power vents would advantageous…either way you need to find out what the insurance company will allot for your roof and go from there.
If you have a savy contractor then he can go over the adjusters estimate with a fine comb and often squeeze another 800 - 1200 out…it just takes a little time…much of it has to do with proving that their estimating software is incorrect which I have been able to do time and time again…by doing such and working with your contractor on pricing, you can usually get the upgrades you want.

Why are they paying for your roof anyway…storm damage?
Also, what type of venting system do you have now?

Jeff