Seller a Master Electrician

I inspected a two family yestarday and the buyer and seller were both present. I met my client (buyer) first and introduced myself to the sellr and current owner. First words out of his mouth were “do you want to see inside the electric panels?” I replied yes, he asked me if I’m a licenced electrician, I’m not, so he insisted on taking the dead fronts off for me and putting them back on as well. He immediately pulled them off for me they were both open before i got to the interior of the home.

OK, less work for me, but i’m thinking this guy may be a pain…I was completely surprised, the seller was helpfull, but out of the way, offered all kinds of info about repairs and renovations and dates etc…Any defects I found were met with either surprise or oh ok, but no arguments or upsetness.

His work was impecable and he kept up the property verry well. The place had defects bu nothing too big. I decided, i like inspecting homes owned by GOOD tradesman. I’ve had similar experiences with contractors too.

Yes, if they are professional in their work and attitude they are actually quite nice to work with. It’s the ones who feel they need to put you in your place who are a pain. Perhaps it’s because they have dealt with inspectors who think they have more knowledge than all tradesmen put together. We have some of those on this board at times. :wink:

That’s awesome. I had a seller who was the builder the other day. It was horrible. He kept asking if it was the best inspection I had ever done. He was repairing defects as I found them and asking me to look again. It was horrible.