Shawn Price, why does AirChek not ever explain how Ralph Nader tried to extort us?

I think it an important story to re-tell here sometime especially since scumbag Ralph Nader tried to extort me too.

Blackmail? I don’t know anything about blackmail. But I do know of a bogus “study” that he did back ~ 1990 that almost killed off the radon industry. I wasn’t with Air Chek at the time, as I worked with EPA’s Radon Proficiency Program back then, so I wasn’t privy to all of the details.

But I do call it the radon mass extinction. Since I’m a geologist by education, that analogy fits well into my thinking since there are mass extinctions throughout the geologic record. A bogus study and fancy press work put a lot of people on the street, both good and bad. It has taken many years for parts of the industry to rebound from that unfortunate event.

Here’s the Reader’s Digest version. Nader got kits from several sources and hired a radon chamber to test them. The chamber operator screwed up royally, but nobody knew it at the time. Then the results came out and basically everyone failed. Nader went to press and essentially called radon folks a bunch of charlatans and suddenly people stopped testing and many radon folks went belly-up. It was ~ a couple months later that EPA’s technical folks figured out that the chamber exposures were the problem, not the labs, but it was too late. The damage was done and from what I have heard, Nader’s group didn’t care and never issued a retraction or explanation to the public that his press release was bogus.

I guess it is water under the bridge at this point. It was before I was on the industry side of the fence, so it never really had an impact on me. My boss still seethes when he thinks about the story, but it has been so long ago that it doesn’t effect us any longer. Time heals I guess.