Small Claims Court

Today, for the first time in 62 years, I stood in small claims court as the defendant. :shock:

I am a InterNachi certified inspector and work hard to keep up other certifications and enhance my general knowledge base around housing and home inspections. When I go to an inspection I do so with the intent to help the client come away with a fairly complete mental picture and photo laced report about the home they are buying.

In my case, the complaint was an obvious attempt to recover funds, spent on repairs two or more years ago, some three years after the inspection date. The repairs were to mitigate mold said to have been found on a carpet tack strip in the basement family room by a mold technician who just happened to have a Mold Mitigator and Mold lawyer in the passenger seats of his getaway car.

I did recover the mold technicians report and will likely send it to pro-labs or a disinterested professional for their evaluation and interpretation.

I am encouraging anyone who is being sued, or has been sued to join in and offer up your experience and thoughts. Please keep it light, and remember that naming real names is usually not the best approach on the Internet.

So you know, Internachi and Nick helped me a great deal with this case. I plan to be active on this forum, in this thread. Hopefully the information and support that came from Internachi will be more available here, and in a more complete form for those of you who will search the net for weeks with out sleep to find an answer.

This is not a legal advice forum, and I am not a lawyer. Please do be carefull about spilling too much information about upcoming cases.

How about starting by telling us your story?

Why were you sued?

What did they claim?

What was your response, and what did you do to defend?

What was the final outcome?

Send Pro-Labs a mold report and they may come back saying you had termites. Is that the lab you normally use? Is there an EMSL near you?