Snell level I certification warranted for home inspections?

Good evening–

I just purchased a fluke Tir unit and signed up to John Mckenna’s webinar. I received a call from the fluke rep here in Chicago trying to sell me the snell level I cert class this coming January. I told him im a novice with these cameras but we purchased it for my home inspection buisness along with a contracting company im partners in. I wanted to see what the experienced thermal imagers thought were before we spent another 1695.00. If its warranted then so be it. Again we are it stictly for home inspections and quality assurance in our building division. I appreciate any advisement. JK

I took the Building Science Certification Course through The Building Science Institute (FLIR) The course is geared towards building inspections.

Linas–

Was that certificate equal to a ITC or Snell level I certificate. Again I just want to make sure im spending 1695.00 for the right reason. Basically from what i understand the class is 32 hrs of training. The rep from Fluke basically made me feel if I get trained the fundamentals and uses of thermal imaging cameras from any other certification body other than ITC or Snell it would not be worth anything. True? False? I know there are experianced thermographers on this sight?

Building Science Institute and ITC are partners- BSI provides the instructors. I prefer the live onsite training. Snell is also a good provider. There probably isn’t much difference in their course presentations.

Gotcha-- Thanks for all the help Linas.

I’ve taken both John MCKenna’s introductry class and the Flir Level I Certification class. Both were good.

Flir’s obviously heavily geared theirs toward FLIR equipment.

Several friends with IR cameras other than Flir / have taken BOTH Flir and Snell classes indicated that Snell’s class was more hands on than Flir’s AND more neutral on cameras, AND they’re more experienced with Fluke Cameras than the Flir guys.