starting inspection career in wisconsin

Originally Posted By: Blane Sparhawk
This post was automatically imported from our archived forum.

Desperately looking for guidance getting into the home inspection field. icon_exclaim.gif ** I am presently a laid-off electrician. icon_exclaim.gif *** I am wondering which way to go, weather to try to get in with someone else or try to go off on my own right away. **** I am aware of the regulations at the state level to become certified/licensed. ***** My main concern is weather or not there is enough of a demand for a new inspector in my area(how to find out?) Any suggestions, comments, questions would be greatly appreciated icon_exclaim.gif ****** I am also interested in money saving info on start-up costs. I need to know, what to expect for start- up costs! ( Remember I said I was laid-off! ) ******* Last but not least, any info on ‘good’ low cost E&O insurance providers.

Thanks for any help you can offer.

Sorry about the "very interested" tittle! I am also a first timer to the world of message boards and it's etiquette. Please excuse me.
My name is Blane Sparhawk and I am living in Neenah, Wisconsin.

--
Blane Sparhawk,
Neenah,WI
E-Mail: bdshawk1984@netzero.net

Originally Posted By: kbliss

Very Interested,

I like you are new to the HI business. I have gone out and started my own business after taking a course and having a carpentry background. The best bet is to do a search for HIs in your area on the net or look in the phone book. Ask some realtors theyll know if there are a lot in the area. I got insurance from Allen Ins. their # is 1-800-474-4472.

As for marketing I got some cards made up and joined this organization (NACHI) and I got my first job through the NACHI "find an inspector" listing they have here. Also I made up some brochures on microsoft publisher bought some brochure holders at office depot and put them in realestate offices.

Kurt Bliss Home inspector

Originally Posted By: jfarsetta