Steps to take New Client

I am a new Home Inspector that will be in the field shortly. I am trying to find the best way to take in a new client. Essentially, I would like to create a step-by-step SOP for taking in new clients to provide consistency while being efficient at taking on multiple clients. My goal is to have it start at the initial phone call all the way to the end of the transaction.

The phone rings… What do you do next?

1 Like

Welcome to our forum, Phil!..enjoy participating. :smiley:

1 Like

Say Hello, how can I help you? :+1:

4 Likes

Kevin, I used to say; “Hello, I can help you” while standing up with a smile, of course.

3 Likes

If you make a script, you will sound scripted.

Try to steer away from fee’s in the initial part of the conversation and develop a relationship.

Here are the questions I ask, usually to keep them busy while I’m looking up the home.

Congratulations on your home purchase
What is the address?
How old is the home?
What is the foundation (crawl, basement, slab etc)?
What is the approx. square footage?
Is the home vacant?
Are the utilities on?
Will this be your personal residence or an investment property?
What are your major concerns with the home?
(this is important because you can now begin to set expectations on what a home inspection is)
Then finally, give them a price.

8 Likes

I agree! Bring enthusiasm to the conversation. This will let them know you love your job and you will bring that enthusiasm to the project.

3 Likes

Related…

2 Likes

I appreciate the feedback. I am not trying to make a script since I know how robotic those can sound. I would like to get the steps people take from getting the first phone call until the report is sent out (or what you consider the end). I was thinking something more along the line of:

• Answer phone and say Hello
  • Gather information about the house
  • Gather information about the client
  • How did you hear about us?
  • Email “Client Agreement”
  • Do Inspection