Surface area heat loss calc question

hello,

I am taking the Calculating Envelope Energy Loss Course and when determining the Delta T I am a little confused. The temp inside a house can very greatly which will greatly influence the end result. Is there a standard temperature that the house should be set to? Should these calculations only be performed during specific times during the year? Am I overthinking this?

Thank you

Welcome to our forum, Joseph!..enjoy participating. :smiley:

In my opinion, this subject can get too many inspectors in trouble. There is so much more to it than just figuring a temp drop or energy loss.

Delta T is simply the temperature differential between two points. I keep my house 65 degrees in the summer. My father-in-law keeps his between 75-77. The difference between the supply and return should be between 16-22 degrees (this can vary depending on who you ask) difference. If I take a measurement right at the furnace/air handler and I have a 22-degree temp drop, do you think my system is being efficient or is there a chance of an airflow problem?

I don’t know this course but I do Building Performance work. Without taking the course to answer your question:

First, if your doing a performance survey, you use the current IA/OA Delta at the time of inspection. If your doing an overall projected loss assessment you select in IA ambient and the yearly weather records. Ie. Heating/Cooling Days for your region.

I can’t tell which assessment your trying to do.

The temp inside a house can very greatly which will greatly influence the end result.

If your talking about room by room differences, you do calculations room by room.

Is there a standard temperature that the house should be set to?

There has to be a Temp difference so set it accordingly.

Should these calculations only be performed during specific times during the year?