Thinking about taking a home inspector class

I have a full time job… Have a prior history in home improvements and repairs… Family has been in the home improvement business for over four generations… I’m a civil servant and have plenty of time off. I wanna work for myself i have a masters degree in administration. .? I’m a hard worker and really don’t give up at anything until I’m successful… Would u guys please tell me your thoughts on becoming a home inspector and is there potential in this field or is there to much competition and not enough work??

I think that many can succeed at whatever they put their mind to. Some areas may be saturated but still…there are those that stand out.

What area do you plan your work, Frank? Maybe those in that general vicinity can be of more assistance to you specifically.

New york/Long island

Unless you go full time you are better off cleaning rugs…true.
Business takes time to generate.

Frank- if you want I devote the time it takes to do the training, I say go for it. Even if you only do a few inspections at first, there is always room to grow and maybe even one day become your full time gig. If you have relatively minimal experience, I would recommend a live class somewhere and then supplement with the InterNACHI training when you have completed that.

I was in your position. Did it the same way. Was doing commercial drying, which has many aspects of home inspection involved. Did my training and slowly started my business. Year 2, I was full time. Now I am about 20 hours per day, 7 days per week. Be careful what you wish for and it is very possible. Don’t take any short cuts. Do it right.

It is a dirty nasty hot job that you deal with a s s holes most of the time. Stick to your cozy office job as I would trade places in a heartbeat :slight_smile: Especially if you are making a GOOD living and have decent hours and benefits.