Too little Information on reporting using software?

I’m Joseph Chavarria, starting my business here in Southern California.
I’m new to home inspecting but have spent most of my career in construction. My question is “How much information is enough.” For example, one will definitely report any deficiencies observed. However is it suffice to only comment on major deficiencies and just check off boxes or check mark as completed, depending on software used. I don’t have software purchased yet and would like to know what is enough? Do we just checkmark as observed without commenting.

What are the expectations of clients i.e. homeowners, sellers, agents etc. Could anyone elaborate any experiences or stories.
Your feedback is much appreciated!

Thank you Joseph Chavarria J&M Home inspections L.L.C

Is your state or munincipality licensed? I don’t believe California is. If it is they will have requirements for your reports (state SOP). Either way you want to find the names of some local inspectors. Go to their websites and look at a sample report. Pay note to what they are reporting (state requirements and extra). Try to determine the software they use (often noted on the edges of the sample pages). Download free trial software from those vendors whose reports that attracted you.

If you’re going to be a home inspector you need to research the competition. They may or may not be on this forum.

3 Likes

@rkenney is correct about licensing but there are requirements for CA.

Scroll down to the California Legislation Information in this link HERE there is a PDF file you can download and read that has those requirements.

Sound advice right there. Most report software companies have free trial versions. What works for others may not work for you. Play with some of them and buy what you can afford to start. If business takes off for you then you can afford to upgrade to more expensive software.

Research research research…

1 Like