Unsafe for 20 years yet still standing.

When I started learning to build homes back in 78 I had the pleasure to meet some very knowledgeable (and practical) carpenters and builders. While none of them were PE’s by any means they always knew how to account and distribute loads / forces exerted upon a home, especially roof loads.

Working with such people over the years, gleaning as much as possible, has given me a level head about what works (even outside the calculations) and what doesn’t.

One can easily cruise through this section of the forum and find inspectors getting all excited about purlins not in place, missing collar ties, etc…that’s not to say that those things are not important, they are, however I also believe that while things may not be be anywhere close to code…in many cases the structure is still standing after 50 years.

Recently while doing an insurance job with another GC & HI I have known for almost 20 years we came across a a “suspended roof / ceiling”.
The ceiling / roof has been like this for at least 20 years…yet it never fell in on the homeowner.

Look at the pictures and see how many things you find unacceptable today.

Dallas & Cornelilus Hail Damage 049.JPG

Dallas & Cornelilus Hail Damage 053.JPG

Dallas & Cornelilus Hail Damage 047.JPG

Dallas & Cornelilus Hail Damage 052.JPG

…please little nails… please stay strong. :stuck_out_tongue:

Everything has its beginning and its end–that is its “lifespan”. No one knows how long anything will last, but it will eventually come to an end.

Hold your hands apart–about 3 feet. The right hand represents the “beginning” and the left hand represents the "end. That is the lifespan of any project.

Now slowly move the right hand toward the left–when the hands come together you have represented the end of the lifespan.

Now where, exactly are your hands–how far apart are they–in relation to the construction in your pictures?

I realize that this construction has held up without failing all this time…