Verbiage used by fellow InterNACHI inspector

Hey all, hope the year is kicking off to a great start.

I’m a fellow licensed inspector and member of InterNACHI. I also flip homes as my side hustle building for retirement as we get a 401k match working for ourselves :slight_smile:

I wanted to get your thoughts on an inspection response I got from my latest sale. This is a fellow InterNACHI member so I’ll leave names out. I’m struggling with this one in a big way…see the verbiage below regarding a sewer main line:

Some clients may choose to have a heightened
level of inspection completed on the main sewer line
of the building. That inspection uses a specialized
camera to ensure the integrity of the system from
the building to the street. That level of inspection is
beyond the scope of a typical building inspection,
but is highly recommended and can be ordered
through specialized plumbing providers. It is noted
that in buildings of this age the main sewer lines
often were constructed using clay or cast iron pipe
which can fail over time.

Now we all know conversations can sway things in a big way. But in this case the buyer asked that the sewer scope be performed by the seller and was not performed during the inspection. So speculation or predicting?

I would like everyone’s thoughts if you wouldn’t mind.

You can say no, that inspections are up to the buyer to perform. Does the sale contract say that the buyer has the right to demand the seller have inspections performed or that the buyer may have inspections performed? I would push such inspections back on the buyer if they want them.

As far as the item in the report, the wording is weird, but there is nothing wrong with advising a client to have a hydrostatic of sewer scope inspection performed on homes that have an increased potential for problems. In Houston, underslab repairs of failed cast iron or clay tile sewer lines can run 10s of thousands of dollars.