West Virginia licence.....same day reports?

Ok,I’m not bitchin,but I am reading the law that The Fire Marshall in WV has written that says we have to provide a written report the same day as the inspection.I am an independant Inspector and don’t use those huge binders that have tabs and home improvement tips in them and check boxes.Although I see where they can be useful,I would still like to be able to go home ,do my report using photos laid out properly,and submit the following day(within 24 hrs.).I guess I could just print my inspection check list before I go to the home and fill that out while doing the inspection,and give that to them until I can go print out a professional report.Do any other states require this process?

Not Kentucky.

I’m thinkin maybe an ASHI rep. might have helped write some of this stuff.Who knows

John,

I am not aware of any state that mandates that the report be given the same day, the only one that might is Texas where reporting is very clearly defined, maybe one of our TX members can comment on this.

Regards

Gerry

Yes,it clearly states that reports have to be given in writing the same day.I thought that was odd.

Same day reports are not required in Texas.

Regardless, I think you are misreading the WV rule. It states:

A certified inspector shall submit a written report as to the conditions of the property, on the day of the inspection, to the client within a mutually agreed upon timeframe.

That means the conditions of the property on the day of the inspection. It clearly states you agree upon a timeframe to provide the written report to your client.

Well,maybe so.But I still read it as the same day to deliver a written report.I will call the Fire Marshall and clarify.Thanks

My guarantee is 24 hours but I’m not aware of an actual law.