What are the benefits of becoming a CMI?

I have been receiving the same package for the last 7 or 8 years from the Master Inspector Certification Board. The only time I really think about it, is when I am on the forum and see some of you with your CMI behind your names. I have looked at the packages once or twice and must have a dozen copies of Stacks.

What would you say is the main benefit of getting your CMI?

Money. Read STACKS: A Home Inspector’s Guide to Increasing Gross Revenue

1 Like

What package are you talking about?

Yeah, what CMI package are you talking about? Are they sending you a bunch of CMI patches?

I also have been receiving a packet in the mail at least one a year for as long as I can remember!
I just happen to still have the last one received which I think usually come around the time the Christmas Party stuff gets shipped out.
(And no… no patches included, just marketing stuff, an Application, the mentioned Stacks book, and a ‘special offer’ (confidential??) from Nick.

1 Like

Using anything that will make you stand out in a crowd is a good marketing strategy.

I’ve had clients tell me they hired me because I am a CMI.

5 Likes

I think I still have a couple kicking around. :slight_smile:

I had also received several of those prior over the years. I don’t remember ever getting any CMI patches or marketing material to use with it though.

CMI is a marketing hammer - you need to use it, and not just have it. I have sold more inspections than I can count by being a CMI. It’s one of the best marketing hammers ever

4 Likes

No… marketing to ME, not potential clients! The entire packet is geared to get me to spend MY money!!

5 Likes

When I googled CMI this was one of the few images that showed up on Google for CMI. I did not find any benefit on Google.

Ian if you are a CMI, why does it not show up behind your name when you post on the forum? I Googled your name and nothing for CMI up to page 5.