When Do You Know Your Ready to Actually Inspect?

Hi all! So i have extensive experience in the home services & contracting industry running businesses, marketing, building websites, and working with clients. I also know a number of realtors from these businesses. I am not intimidated by the business/marketing aspect of home inspections so much, but rather need to be confident of my technical proficiency as an inspector. So I have studied the courses for about 4 months, should be ready to pass the test, set up my inspection software, practice doing inspections on my own home as well as for friends and family, get insurance etc. - but how will I know I am ready to actually do a paid inspection in the real world?

It seems clear enough taking courses only prepares you so much. Should I just jump into the fire and start doing inspections or be trying to do ride alongs first or anything else? I am not terribly keen on being someone’s employee - I will most likely become a competitor and don’t want to risk being accused of stealing my employers clients.

1 Like

Inspect 10 houses for friends and write complete reports (each report has to be completed in timely manner). Make sure the reports are a polished product. Have the reports reviewed by a peer. Then you will know if you are ready or not. Passing tests do not make you a home inspector :slight_smile:

7 Likes

Welcome aboard, Nathan. :slightly_smiling_face:

4 Likes

Welcome Nathan. This is a constant learning business. This forum is very informative.

3 Likes

Thank you - I can see it is a business requiring dedication to learning!

2 Likes

Welcome to the forum, Nathan,

2 Likes

Everyone’s different of course. I’ve felt I’ve been groomed for home inspections my entire life. I was ready before I even joined this fine organization.

2 Likes

So at what point did you believe you were ready to start performing inspections?

Did you do 10 mock inspections and reports and get peer review like was suggested?

5 Likes