When do you recommend replacing as shake or shingle roof?

What % of shakes need to be bad before you tell the client it might need a complete re-roof and recommend a roof consultant. Not contractor.

Ken it really comes down to how much (working) knowledge an inspector has with this type of roof. As a builder I have installed wood shakes and even today am fascinated with their beauty…especially the older roofs. I am not sure what your definition of “bad” is or how you determined they were bad however most of these roofs should be around for 30 years…those that were taken from old growth trees can last 50 years or more. So you see it really comes down to the price…it would be crazy to take seasoned shakes that still have substantial life and replace them with new growth shingles that may only last 20 years. Especially taking into consideration that most people only live in a house for 5 - 7 years and are gone. To replace a whole roof can be expensive…and unnecessary.

Many factors have to be looked at before truly suggesting that the whole roof be replaced…I wont even go into the hand drive versus air gun issue which has a dramatic effect on wood shakes / shingles.

My advice for inspectors is to simply advise their client to have a professional roofing contractor(s) that deal with these types of roofs evaluate it to help them make that determination.

For the owner it will come down to cost of replacing a few shakes / shingles or doing the whole roof.

Obviously an inspector needs to use some common sense when looking at a roof that clearly has reached its life…yet unless that inspector is very knowledgeable with wood shakes / shingles my suggestion is to let someone else make the call.

regards

Jeff

Exactly.

Home inspectors do not recommend remedy to the defect.

In this case, the inspector brings to the client’s attention that “*more than three *(for example)” shakes were rotting and recommends that he consult with a qualified roofing contractor for advice.