Why Such a High turnover of HIs

IMO, the biggest contributor to turnover is the misguided soul who decides that he will do inspections “part time” and, when he starts getting enough business to carry himself, he will do it full time. I think that of the 90% who will fail before their third year in business, 80% fall into that category.

A part time commitment and part time effort gets only part time results. You have to not only invest money and time into training and tools…but commit to the fact that the time between inspections is when you actually are working the hardest to market and prepare your business and your skills. Add to that the fact that the part time newby doing $175 home inspections will NEVER earn enough to quit his full time job.

I was a top producing agent for a decade and full-time agents complain about part-time agents just like full-time inspectors complain about part-time inspectors. There may be a marketing opportunity here, but we’d have to do something drastic. I could make us an “InterNACHI FULL TIME Inspector” logo similar to our others www.nachi.org/logos.htm but with a twist. To use the free logo, members would have to get a letter from their accountant stating that 80% of their earned income comes from performing inspections. I can author language for your accountant. Then you could have the logo link to a copy of your accountant’s letter. It’s a bit out-of-the-box, but that is what is going to be needed to alert agents and buyers that it is in their best interest to hire a full-time professional who makes performing inspections his/her career and passion. We could come up with a couple articles explaining why consumers should pay a little more for an InterNACHI FULL TIME Inspector and avoid part-timers. You could use the articles with your logo linking to your accountant’s letter. Let me know what you think of the idea.