Wording

I did an inspection today and came across this panel. I was hesitant to open because of missing breakers and excessive rust observed through wire knock outs. I did not open because of safety reasons. Know I am having difficulty explaining. Please help.

Rgards
Gary

I didn’t open the electrical panel to inspect it because I felt it was unsafe for me to open based on (fill in the blank)

[quote=nbhi]
I did an inspection today and came across this panel. I was hesitant to open because of missing breakers and excessive rust observed through wire knock outs. I did not open because of safety reasons. Know I am having difficulty explaining. Please help.

Rgards
Gary quote]
Safety first is always number one on the list. I listen to the hair on the back of my neck .
If I do not like it I will not do it period.
Now on the other side I am an electrician ( retired ) and most likely would have opened the panel .
Even then I do not open the primary side as a Home inspector .
I do know many HIs who do open the primary side ( I disagree with HIs doing this )
How would I write . (Safety concern with the panel recommend immediate further evaluation by qualified person ).
No discusion with any one other then it just does not look safe to me and it need to be fixed by a qualified person .
Do not get into discusion in what does and what does not .
Just repeat it does not look safe to me.
Hope this helps
Roy Cooke

Roy

Thanks for the info. I would normally open up the panel, but my inspection partner said no it looks unsafe. By the way that partner is my wife, she the boss.

Rgards

Gary

Glad to hear that I have my wife with me on all inspections and I too am smart enough to listen most times.
Usually when I do not, I wish I had listened. Glad for both of us .
Roy Cooke

Honestly, I see no problem. It’s not like the cover or box is rusted through (unless I am missing something). The cover is simply rusted.