3-light tester and reversed polarity

I’ve been inspecting for several years, and recently learned something. (I learn new things every day, but this is something that I am surprised that I did not realize until now.) A three-light tester will NOT show a hot/neutral reverse if the receptacle being tested is not grounded. I inspect a lot of older homes that have a lot of ungrounded outlets, so I am sure that I have missed many hot/neutral reverses over the years by relying too much on my three-light tester. Fortunately, I am now using the SureTest which can find a hot/neutral reverse on an ungrounded receptacle. Just thought I would share this info.
I wrote a blog post about this with a little more detail about some “experiments” that I did with several of these three-light testers.

2 Likes

Good info, Mike. Thanks for posting. If i get any error code on a three-light tester, I recommend that an electrician make repairs.

The problem with the three light tester has always been that it can only identify ONE problem. In the case of older homes with out circuit grounds it simply can’t light the indicators that require a ground connection. As a result only the center light is lit but can’t identify correct polarity because that requires a ground connection on the outside two lights.

Sure test is the way to go with two slot outlets.

Morning, Mike. Hope this post finds you well.

Glade to hear you learned something new. Always invigorated me. More so when the something new is one of your strong suites or your are evolving in a particular field. Electrical being one of my enjoyments.

That being said. There have been several articles and post through the years referring to 3 Bulb Outlet Testers and Interpreting 3-Prong Receptacle Testers Readings. Here’s one by The Circuit Detective.