As inspectors how far do we go

I am fairly new to the trade. Less than a year. I inspected a 1970’s home today. Cast iron drains and galvanized water lines. Very weak water pressure on the hot water side with sink and shower running in 2 bathrooms. First thought, old galvanized lines stopping up. Here is the question. Buyer is about to replace all the floors in the home, crawlspace access is very limited by the new ductwork for the HVAC. Plumber could cut a few entry holes in a few locations replace all the plumbing cover back up. Lay new floor, problem solved. Would never be any easier or cheaper than right now. Or do we stick with the “recommend inspection by a licensed plumber“ and walk away. How far do we go as inspectors. Thanks for the opinions

Note what you see and recommend the trade involved to repair any deficiencies.
And with your description of the plumbing, that sounds more like a 1950’s build than a 1970.
I was building houses in the 70’s and galvanize piping and cast iron was no longer used.
You might want to check with your local tax dept. on the age.

4 Likes

You already identified the issue (low water pressure), the cause(galvanized piping), and the recommendation (evaluation and repair by a licensed plumbing contractor).

When/why/how they do the repairs is not a concern to us as inspectors.

2 Likes

Ben, report what you see and refer it out to a qualified plumber. One reason for not going further is; What if you are wrong in your assessment? Now, guess who gets the bill or sued.

Best to you.

1 Like

Thank you Mr Cyr. That was still pretty common in our area at the time. Was definitely on the way out though. Thanks to all for the help. Good advice from all. So it’s always best to point out the issue, recommend the proper professional, and let the buyer deal with the information as they see fit. Thanks again