Cost of doing business

This topic might go dangerously close to asking too personal of questions, but I am just getting into this inspection thing and I am trying to plan/budget with my wife what it might cost.
I have read about having savings set aside and such, but what I am wondering is if anyone is willing to share a breakdown of what their costs are of running their inspection business?

Who is the breadwinner? do you have bills? Are you planning to do it full time or part time? nobody on here but you can answer this. You need 2-3 years of savings to live of if everything goes according to plan. From there, inspection wise, you need tools, clothing, vehicle, gas, insurance for vehicle+business, marketing, licensing fees (depending on state), professional services (accounting, attorney, etc…) Everyone does it differently. If you cannot figure out about how much it will cost you to operate, there is a problem already. Make a list of the things you will need and get prices for them. Add them up.

5 Likes

Ditto what Simon said. This has been discussed a number of times. Any time you begin a new business you need to have 2 years of Income in the bank. It’s easier to start a new business when your monthly liabilities are reduced.

Well I think I can figure out how much it will cost me to operate, but that’s the phase that I am in right now…the research phase.
I can certainly try to think up a list of things that I will need, but I was hoping someone would be willing the share their list of fixed costs. For instance, when it comes time for my kids to move out of the house, I will be able to quickly share with them a list of fixed costs that they will have as a person living out on their own. They can probably make a list for themselves, but the smartest thing for them to do, would be to seek advice from someone already living on their own and doing exactly what they are hoping to do. For example they might make a list but forget annual car registration costs, etc.