Engineer Vs. Inspector

The realtor had a structural engineers report and it stated that the cracks where there for a long time and would monitor.

I told the client that the problem was that there is dirt & water coming in and that he should have this further evaluated for repairs.

The grading was terrible, over grown vegetation and most likely blocked foundation drainage.

I am not a structural engineer but it looks like the footer and foundation drainage is the problem. The cracks can be injected and there was no apparent movement.

How do you like the copper connection to the dryer gas line.

Dave

72606 Cleveland 019 (Small).jpg

72606 Cleveland 026 (Small).jpg

72606 Cleveland 007 (Small).jpg

72606 Cleveland 006 (Small).jpg

72606 Cleveland 033 (Small).jpg

If the SE OK’d it, that’s got the monkey off your back. Advise further evaluation in your report, advise the client to make sure the SE put his PE stamp on his documentation, and enjoy your evening–you’re all done.

Engineering reports vary similar to Home Inspection Reports.

A recent Inspection found a horizontal bow crack (.5 to .75 inch separation) in a foundation wall. At the widest point there was a vertical crack running footing to sill even through the solid areas of the masonry block. Full notation with regard to the deficiency present was made along with the recommendation to obtain further engineering review and repair.

One Engineer (PE Stamped Report) found the wall “True and Plumb” with minor cracking. Monitor…

Another Engineer (PE Stamped Report) found the wall to be Deficient and in need of extensive Repair / Replacement.

Two Engineering Reports on the same foundation wall with grossly different opinions.

I am waiting to receive copies of both PE Reports to archive along with the HI Report.

Wow.