Good Inspector Bad Inspector

I’ve been following the comments on the message board and wondering what it should take to be a certified master inspector (CMI), and what it means to be a good inspector. I’m not even sure what “good” means. All I know is that after completing thousands of inspections without a lawsuit or significant complaint, I was beginning to believe that I was a good inspector, and then I was served with a lawsuit. It was frivolous, but still an affront to my self-esteem and a real embarrassment. This is what happened. I arrived early for an inspection of a slab-on-grade tract house built on a flat level pad, and was greeted by a gracious young woman who invited me to begin my inspection on the outside, but cautioned me to wait until her husband arrived before venturing into the back yard where a large Rottweiller salivated for foreign flesh. I was happy to oblige, and was noting some deficiencies with a water heater in an exterior closet when the woman’s husband arrived home. He was definitely aggressive, and berated me for having started the inspection without him being present. I allowed him to bluster for a moment or two, learning that he was not only the seller but also the listing agent and that he had completely remodeled the residence himself. Without playing the role of amateur psychologist and giving my unprofessional evaluation of his personality, and also without revealing too much of my own latent hostility, I let him know that I wasn’t particularly interested in his opinions and wouldn’t tolerate him interfering in my inspection.