Great "green" article debunked.

As a former Physicist, I found this article very telling. Next time you run into a “green energy expert” ask him what his grade was in college for calculus. Many tell me that they never took calculus. I the respond to them, “Then you are wholey unqualified to even have an opinion about anything scientific.”

Hope this helps;

I don’t want to get into an endless debate about solar vs. fossil fuels, but this article in particular stinks:

• “Green supporters” have a problem with basic math? Oh really, like an entire movement can be boiled down to flawed arithmetic. Comon, even if you’re staunchly anti-solar you have to admit that the debate is complex and runs deeper than basic math. Oh, and by the way, there’s nothing in here that has anything to do with calculus.
  • The comparison with nuclear is unclear. Why does it matter that a nuclear power plant would produce more energy? Nothing is said about the cost of building a nuclear plant vs. solar. Nothing is said about the controversy surrounding spent nuclear fuels. And nothing is said implying that the government is footing the bill for the solar plants, which are merely being allowed to be built on public lands.

See Below:

Government can either support or hinder nuclear plant building. Now they are hindering it, based upon political considerations. Obama’s stated goal was to raise the cost of electricity so as to make other sources appear more desirable. See Solyndra and the other companies that are crony capitalism. Government regs for new plants are simply silly. Also see the environmental political play that is going on with regards to Keysone. Also, all the BS going out about the dangers of fracking.

Hope this helps;

Yes. They believe that all or most of the U.S. electrical needs can be met with wind and solar. Basic science, for which one needs to use math, including calculus, says it cannot happen.