Mr. Obama versus The Real Estate Salesman

I now have a personal reason to like this Obama guy…

Read the poor used house salesman:

Nice

*Some may enjoy seeing the agents and mortgage bankers get their comeuppance but it would also destroy most HI businesses.

We all rely on the sale of homes.

Perhaps. But on the flip side of this, if rates get to where they were back in the late 80’s (like 16%) we’ll be looking for new careers. I’m unfortunately old enough to remember the last serious debacle. I was a broker back then and inspectors I knew didn’t have work for 8-10 weeks at a time. :shock:

A little history gentlemen and ladies.

http://online.barrons.com/public/resources/images/BA-AJ762B_housi_20070706192528.gif

Nice illustration, Mike. I’m older than I thought. :neutral: :smiley:

This current slowdown is nothing compared to some of the past bs. But then again I get this feeling I’m not the only one here who is 50…:frowning:

The problem with mortgages is no one but the brokers really know how mortgage originators get paid, think yield spread premium. $$$$$

It is not a free market, the deck is stacked against the consumer.

50??

For those who don’t know what “real interest rate” is.

It’s the stated interest rate on a mortgage - the rate of appreciation.

Back to Jim’s original post, it would be great to see some accountability on the agent’s side of business. They’re on a free ride blaming the world’s problems on home inspectors.

I read some of the blog James, looks like title insurance will also be lumped in with real estators and everyone else.
Title companies and title insurance is just a rip off as it is, I do not even know why we still need it?

Many loan originators make between 2 to 4 percent of the loan value, for what? They can make even more if the hook you up with a pre-payment penalty, sweeeet.

Not a free market.