New Build with no GFCI protection?

I am new in business with maybe 75 inspections under my belt. I inspected a new build today where there were no receptacles anywhere with GFCI markings or test buttons on the receptacle. Assuming they were GFCI breakers, I tested the locations with my basic 3 light tester but nothing tripped. After removing dead front panel, the Eaton breakers had the test buttons on them. I assumed those with the test buttons were AFI breakers. How do I determine if those are AFI/GFCI breakers? There was no wording on the breakers except the letters “TL”. If this were an older house, I would write it up with no GFCI protection and move on. But this new construction has me second guessing myself. Any help is appreciated.

Welcome Jason! Do you have any pictures of the breakers in the panel? Also, where are you located?

1 Like

If you get stuck.

Exterior electrical receptacles did not trip when tested with a receptacle testing device, which indicated the GFCI receptacle protection was either faulty or not provided. Recommend evaluation for correction by a qualified electrical contractor for safety reasons.

9 Likes

It sounds like the receptacles we’re “protected” by a faulty GFCI circuit breaker. You shouldn’t have to remove the dead front cover to test a test button on a GFCI circuit breaker.

As mentioned above request repair by a licensed electrical contractor.

3 Likes

I’m sure the breaker’s “test button” is visible without removing the dead-front.

Typically, locate the manufacturer info on the breaker or panelboard and research the specs.

1 Like

Thanks, guys. I didn’t push the test buttons once removing the dead front cover. I just thought it very odd that not a single receptacle in the house had a “traditional” receptacle with the test/rest button on them. AND, that my little tester didn’t trip a single receptacle, anywhere. Like I said, I am second guessing myself because it seems so obvious and it’s new construction.