Not Certified in Kansas - Not on Their List

I’m an inspector in Kansas and have been pondering for several months now whether I was going to apply for certification according to the new laws. I certainly lean toward James Bushart’s views on the matter and would agree that this would be a just case for civil disobedience. That was further confirmed with NACHI’s currently issued position statement supporting an inspector choosing to not abide to the laws.

But the decision really hit home today when one of the local realtors informed me of the following:

“The Kansas Real Estate Commission is requiring that as of Jan 1, all licensed real estate brokers must keep a copy of the license document on file for every person they put on their list. So the list that we give out to the customer with the names of available inspectors, cannot include your name unless we have a copy of your state license.”

They said they were putting together a formal letter and would be sending it to all inspectors sometime in the next month. Unfortunately, in this rural area, the majority of business comes through realtor referrals. So if I don’t certify with the state, I won’t be business. So what’s a Kansas inspector suppose to do?

I bet they never kept certifications of inspectors on file before. Most inspector certifications will be higher than what a state is going to require for a license. Now they are concerned about who they refer. Simply Amazing!

Kenny,

See NACHI Code of Ethics #10. Civil disobedience is one thing, but the cost of your NACHI membership, is another item to consider.