Repirators and other tools

Hi All,
I am new to the industry and was wondering what brand/type of respirators you would reccomend, for doing inspections here in Florida? Also curious how often do you need to use one in your day to day?
What other gear (specialty or not) do you always keep in your tool kit to make your life better/safer as HI in Florida?
Thanks!

Regarding a respirator I’ve worn them many times in my career as a professional electrician. If you are considering wearing one you should consider a few factors starting with your physical ability to wear one and then your access to a fit test. No one should be buying a respirator from Home Depot and wearing one on the job. Here’s some good information regarding respirators that you should consider before wearing one.

Fit Test FAQs | NPPTL | NIOSH | CDC.

6 Likes

While I’m new this year, I have not found the need to wear one yet. I’ve been in a couple crawls under manufactured homes, but that was the oddball, not the norm and both were dry.

Most attics in Florida are dry with the occasional rodent droppings, but you don’t need to be up there all that long. Most attics I’ve been in are so full of insulation you couldn’t get to the other side without degrading the insulation and risk putting your foot through the ceiling, so I don’t go.

I’ve been thinking of rigging up a long pole for my 360 camera with a light for the occasional “what is that” moment.

1 Like

Many may disagree, but I don’t have and have never needed a respirator on a home inspection. I do have some simple dust masks like might be worn when sanding drywall. In fact i wore them when covid was a big issue. Did they help? I never caught covid, but i think it reassured clients and renters i met at different properties.