Ridge board fastening schedule

Hello - I’m studying for my upcoming state exam in NC. Can someone verify if I’m understanding this math correctly?

Say I’m building a deck 16’ L x 20’ W.
Is the spacing for the ridge board fasteners 6.5" OC? 100 divided by 16 = 6.5?

Say the the joists were 10’, 100 divided by 10 = 10" OC?

Here is the quote from the InterNACHI deck inspection section:
Determining the exact required spacing for the ledger fasteners is based on many factors, including:

• joist length;
  • type of fastener;
  • diameter of fastener;
  • sheathing thickness;
  • use of stacked washers;
  • type of wood species;
  • moisture content;
  • band joist integrity; and
  • deck loads…

…and so is beyond the scope of a visual inspection. However, the spacing of ledger fasteners required is primarily determined by the length of the joists.

InterNACHI’s ledger fastener spacing formula provides inspectors with this rule of thumb:

On-center spacing of ledger fasteners in inches = 100 ÷ joist length in feet.

A deck with substantially fewer ledger fasteners than that recommended by InterNACHI’s formula may be unsafe.

Thank you for your responses.

QuestionMark

1 Like
2 Likes

Jefferey I appreciate this. This is super informative.

However, the rule of thumb formula given by internachi does not seem to jive with the manual you just provided. Unless my understanding of their math for the rule of thumb is completely off, I come up with 6.5" OC for a 16’ joist span using the rule of thumb formula. Is there a better way to understand this if the state exam asks this question? The diagram on the manual you provided also factors in connections to LVL, and 1-1/2" lumber, how the heck can we figure this out on the fly without a code book?

I’ve never seen ledger bolts 6" on center. Something is wrong with your or NACHI formula.

1 Like

Me neither, it seems rather excessive in my opinion.