Starting the "How to perform residential electrical inspections" course

Greetings everyone. I have a quick question about some verbiage that in in the first portion of this course. My background is as a fire marshal for local municipality so I deal with code enforcement on a day-to-day. I am brand new to the residential portions, and I am looking to pursue this career path.

So my question is this:
In the course “how to perform residential electrical inspections”, the slide for “Safety First” states that “this is also one of the few areas which most inspectors would report as a defect – systems or components that were acceptable when the home was built, but would now be considered a defect” It gives a lack of GFCIs in the kitchen as an example of a defect.

I may be looking at this the wrong way, but in code enforcement as a fire marshal, I have to look at the adopted code for when the structure was constructed to enforce certain items. If the structure was built to the then-adopted code, no changes made that would require bringing it to modern code, it is accepted. I can’t ask for an occupancy constructed in 1958 to install a fire alarm system if nothing has changed. Is this different for residential inspections?

Welcome Steven!

Good questions and I think it’s still up to the local jurisdictions call. Some may require systems to be updated to current code, while others do not require it. The area I’m in doesn’t require any updates, but I tell my clients that even though they don’t, it is recommended doing it this way based on current codes or standards of practice.

Thank you! So more or less you are marking it as a defect for general knowledge? It made more sense after reading it a couple of times. Just wanted to make sure I was understanding it correctly. Thank you for the response!