The biggest problem for this industry is Main Home Inspection Pricing!

I’ve been a HI for about 2 years now. Prior to that I was a contractor and worked in construction for over 20 years, running my own business for a majority of that time. I am fortunate to have been very successful at the transition between the two industries and was able to jump right in to HI full time. I have been able to offer many ancillary services and I’m certified for a lot of additional inspections including roof inspections, mold testing, infrared, chimneys, septic and water quality, etc. Adding these additional services is a great way to make extra money. But one thing I have noticed is that many of these additional services are fairly priced and tend to have a higher perceived value than main home inspections. For example, I can easily get $350 for a mold inspection and testing. This typically takes about 45 minutes to do the inspection and testing, and about 20-30 minutes writing the report after the lab results come back. It costs on average about $75-100 per mold inspection for the lab fees and Fed-Ex. So basically I can make $250 an hour for these, less travel time. If I do this during a home inspection, it only adds about 15 minutes. Most homeowners/buyers don’t complain about the pricing and see it as a similar service to a plumber coming to fix a drain clog for example.