10 year structural new home warranty question

Question, client buying a house with a couple of structural defects and the house is 2 years old and is bank owned, never lived in. Builder is still in business. Are the 10 year warranties transferrable with the house or just the original owner? And if so does anyone have a web link where I can find the documents to prove it? Note: I did ask the builder the question and he stated not transferable, but that’s just verbal. Thanks in advance.

Gordon
That’s a good question. I’m an Inspector in Virginia, so the following info relates to homes in Virginia.
The state requires builders to give a 5 years structural warranty; and this warranty “shall be held to survive the transfer of title”. The state law also states the warranties can be “waived, modified or excluded” under certain conditions, but this must be spelled out specifically in the contract (the state law also describes how the exclusions must be presented; type face, etc).
A search VIA the internet under FL building laws/regulations may help you.
This is something I never considered; thanks for the info.

Thanks Jaime, I did try Google searching but mostly what I got was the warranty insurance companies selling their policies to builders. I will inform my client to check with a real estate attorney on this if I cannot find proof for him. I was under the impression that the warranty transferred as I have seen other builders repair defects not from the original owners, but maybe they were just using good public relations. This house I inspected the builder is a small custom builder.

Gordan----Do you mean a warranty program like the ones listed below that the builder may pass on to the orginal buyer of the home when it was built or the actual builders risk ?

http://www.bondedbuilders.com/

Those are insurance companies which back the builder. The actual law for the 10 year warranty which builders must cover is what I need to know is transferable or not.