Calculating Insulation R-Values

Hello!
I am currently studying to become a home inspector and while doing an assignment for the interior / insulation course, I am quite confused about the R-Value.

I live near enough to Toronto where the recommended R-value is quite high. However, when I look at the insulation in the unfinished part of my basement, I can see what I believe is fiberglass batt insulation R8 on 3 walls and R12 on the 4th wall. It is also covered with a vapor barrier (I believe it came as part of a set).
I measured the thickness of the R8 as about 1 inch (maybe up to 1.5 inches) and the R12 at about 2 inches.

How do I calculate the total R-Value for the area? I checked and re-checked the study material and searched online but my answers came up empty.

Thanks in advance!
-Adam

Not sure if reporting total R-Value in your area is within the Canada SOP or jurisdictions but if it is, I’m sure our Canadian members will help you out further. Where I’m located, the R-Value is not apart of the inspection unless it’s an energy audit, OR if you feel that there is insufficient insulation that may be related to other issues or problems that may me directly related to the lack there of.

Of course it’s always good info to provide to your client and even may be required by local jurisdictions, so start there as far as what needs to be addressed and reported.

1 Like

Thanks for the info. I also kind of wanted to get an idea for myself as well since I just moved into my own very first house so it’s a great learning area for me too.

Post a couple of pics of what you described in your first post.
My ability to decipher Canuck has been waning lately. :wink:

Welcome to our forum, Adam!..Enjoy! :smile:

1 Like

Adam, is there any part of the exterior of your basement that is not backfilled with earth to the approximate 7’ height?

1 Like